Con-way Freight named Wal-Mart’s LTL Carrier of the Year

user-gravatar Headshot

Con-way Freight announced that it was named by Wal-Mart Stores Inc. as its 2008 LTL Carrier of the Year. This is the second consecutive year that the company has received the award, and its third time overall. The world’s largest retailer notified Con-way Freight of the award following an annual performance evaluation of its trucking and logistics service providers.

Con-way says it was named Wal-Mart’s top provider of less-than-truckload freight transportation services based on an evaluation of key performance criteria, including daily on-time delivery performance, market coverage, transit times, claims prevention, effective communication and ease of doing business and customer service.

Con-way Freight “has set itself apart from other carrier partners in the industry by going above and beyond to service our customers,” says Kelly Abney, Wal-Mart vice president of transportation. “Wal-Mart realizes the continued pressure and challenges facing the transportation industry. Your ability to rise above these obstacles has won our utmost trust and confidence. We look forward to a long and rewarding partnership.”

Wal-Mart launched its carrier award program in 1997 to recognize the outstanding contributions of its transportation providers in categories including truckload, LTL, small package, produce and intermodal. The company previously honored Con-way Freight as its LTL Carrier of the Year in 2005 and 2007, and for its leadership in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

“Our people – from customer service representatives to our driver sales professionals – enable Con-way Freight to differentiate ourselves and deliver the exception-free delivery, on-time performance and faster transit times that our customers need to succeed,” said John G. Labrie, president of Con-way Freight, based in Ann Arbor, Mich. “It is an honor to be recognized by Wal-Mart once again, and we thank our employees for providing the superior service experience which is at the heart of this award.”