ATA’s Safety Management Council seeks award nominations

user-gravatar Headshot

The American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council recently announced the 2009 ATA award deadlines for a number of its top safety awards. Entries for the ATA National Driver of the Year, National Safety Director Award, State Trucking Association Recognition Program awards, Excellence in Safety Award, and ATA President’s Trophy are due July 1. Entries for the 2009 Excellence in Human Resource Management Award are due June 26.

The deadline has been extended to the auto transporter division of the ATA National Truck & Industrial Safety Contests until June 10. These contests are the only two national safety programs that recognize the safety accomplishments of motor carriers across the United States by operation type and size. Carriers are judged on their safety records relative to others within their classes of competition. Safety records are determined from the carriers’ vehicle accident rates or lost workday case rates. From the winners of those contests, three companies are chosen to receive the ATA President’s Trophy, which honors each carrier’s superior safety record, outstanding commitment to industrywide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

The ATA National Driver of the Year is awarded annually to one driver for his/her lifetime driving accomplishments as submitted by each state trucking association, including his/her driving record, assistance to others on the highway, community safety activities and heroic deeds.

The ATA Safety Director Award recognizes the safety executive whose professional qualifications, safety programs and achievements are deemed most outstanding; and who is employed by a motor carrier, holds a management position and is responsible for the full-time direction of its company’s safety activities.

The ATA State Association Recognition Program awards recognize the state trucking associations that have most effectively fostered and promoted highway safety within their borders for the greater good of the trucking industry and highway users. The Excellence in Safety Award winner is selected from among the Summa Cum Laude winners in the ATA State Association Recognition Program.

The ATA Excellence in Human Resources Award honors the motor carrier that surpassed all others in its ability to successfully hire, retain and cultivate qualified, safety-oriented and professional employees through its personnel management, programs and continuing education and training.

These awards will be presented to the recipients at ATA Safety Management Council’s Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition, Sept. 16-18, at the Sheraton Baltimore City Center in Baltimore. Recipients are honored again at the ATA Management Conference & Exhibition, Oct. 4-7, at the Mandalay Bay Resort & Convention Center in Las Vegas, Nev. Applications and rules related to entry can be found at