Safety Management Council honors award winners

user-gravatar Headshot

The American Trucking Associations’ Safety Management Council announced its 2011 award winners at its Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Albuquerque, N.M. The ATA President’s Trophy recognizes the three companies whose fleets have been judged to have the best overall safety programs from the Truck & Industrial Safety Contests.

These contests judge motor carriers from across the United States on their safety accomplishments and safety records relative to others within their operation type and size. The top three ATA President’s Trophy recipients are honored for their superior safety achievements, outstanding commitment to industrywide safety and extensive promotion of safety among all highway users.

2011 ATA President’s Trophy (sponsored by Great West Casualty Co.):
• Large fleet winner (more than 100 million miles annually): Roehl Transport Inc., Marshfield, Wis.
• Mid-size fleet winner (between 25-100 million miles annually): Pitt Ohio, Pittsburgh
• Small fleet winner (less than 25 million miles annually): GST Transport Systems, Houston

ATA National Driver of the Year (sponsored by Custard Insurance Adjusters): Rickey Oliver, Wal-Mart Transportation, Brookhaven, Miss.

National Safety Director of the Year (sponsored by Great West Casualty Co.): Alfred LaCombe, Dupre’ Logistics, Lafayette, La.

Excellence in Safety (sponsored by Great West Casualty Co.) North Carolina Trucking Association

Leadership Award: Brian Stoddard, Old Dominion Freight Line Inc., Thomasville, N.C.