ABF chooses 2012-13 Road Team

user-gravatar Headshot

ABF Freight System Inc. has recognized 12 drivers with membership in its 2012-13 ABF Road Team. One of the highest honors an ABF driver can achieve, Road Team members earn the honor by demonstrating the utmost standards of professionalism on North American highways and city streets.

ABF Road Team members for 2012-2013 and the ABF Service Centers where they are based are:
• Jeff Baumgardner, Fort Wayne, Ind.
• Don Biggerstaff, Charlotte, N.C.
• Charlie Estrada, Albuquerque, N.M.
• Loren Hatfield, Little Rock, Ark.
• Kent Jones, Tulsa, Okla.
• Jeff Keller, Carlisle, Penn.
• Mark King, Dayton, Ohio
• Tom Martin, Cheyenne, Wyo.
• Curtis Russell, Decatur, Ala.
• Otto Schmeckenbecher, Little Rock, Ark.
• Kirk Weis, Albuquerque, N.M.
• Bill West, Atlanta

“This group of elite drivers represents the cream of the crop in the transportation industry,” says Roy Slagle, ABF president and chief executive officer. “These professionals possess superb driving skills, outstanding safety records and a commitment to upholding the greatest standards of excellence. It is due to the diligence of employees like these that ABF people have earned a reputation as the safest, most conscientious, highly innovative members of our industry.”

During their 24-month term, ABF Road Team members serve as ambassadors for ABF and the trucking industry at large. Each member is available to address the vital role freight transportation plays in the global economy. When called upon, they speak on safety, the image of the truck driver and the industry, sharing the road with trucks or other subjects of community or industry interest.