D.M. Bowman CEO to take helm of TCA

Ccj Logo White Headshot
Updated Dec 3, 2021

Jim Ward will soon retire from his role at D. M. Bowman as he ascends to TCA's leadership postJim Ward will soon retire from his role at D. M. Bowman as he ascends to TCA's leadership postJim Ward, president and CEO of Williamsport, Maryland-based D. M. Bowman (CCJ Top 250, No. 218) , has been named president of the Truckload Carriers Association (TCA).

Ward will succeed TCA President John Lyboldt, who had announced plans to retire April 1, 2022. Ward will soon retire from his role at D. M. Bowman as he ascends to TCA's leadership post, and currently serves as TCA’s volunteer chair – a term that expires in March 2022. Ward will serve out his term as TCA chair while transitioning into and assuming the president’s role at the March 2022 TCA Annual Conference in Las Vegas. 

Prior to his election as TCA’s chair, Ward was deeply engaged in many facets of TCA leadership and in several of its programs over the many years. In response to several members’ urging him to apply for the president’s position, Ward recused himself from the search process before its outreach began in late August.

“TCA is approaching 2022 in its strongest position in many years,” said TCA Search Committee Chair and First Vice Chair John Elliott, CEO of Load1, in announcing Ward’s selection to members. Elliott cited TCA’s all-time high membership as well as the expansion and success of its advocacy efforts. â€śTCA is poised to strengthen current programs while we actively seek to provide our members new services and opportunities,” Elliott said. “We are excited to bring Jim’s unique skillsets and his deep love of the truckload industry to move TCA to the next level.”

In addition to more than two decades at D. M. Bowman, Ward’s extensive transportation leadership experience includes service as managing director of Willis Towers Watson’s transportation division, where he provided risk management and safety services to multiple transportation clients.

Ward is a past chair and current board member of Maryland Motor Truck Association (MMTA) and a former recipient of MMTA’s Person of the Year award. He also serves as a vice president at-large of American Trucking Associations.