Inaugural NAFA Safety Leadership Award winners named

user-gravatar Headshot

The NAFA Fleet Management Association’s Safety Advisory Council will recognize three safety advocates at its first Safety Leadership Awards, which will be presented at NAFA’s 2012 Institute & Expo in St. Louis on April 22. NAFA’s Safety Leadership Awards were created to recognize individuals and organizations that demonstrate positive influence and impact on vehicular and passenger safety.

The inaugural recipients of the award are:
• U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood: “During Secretary LaHood’s term, Ray has greatly increased public awareness on the dangers of distracted driving, pushed to improve auto safety, developed and enforced valuable safety regulations and served as a tireless advocate against drunk driving,” says Phillip Russo, NAFA executive director. “His work is a testament to the importance of safe driving.”;
• Jack Hanley, executive director, Network of Employers for Traffic Safety: “Jack Hanley and NETS lead the way in road safety efforts,” Russo says. “Through their annual safety benchmark surveys, monthly newsletters and Drive Safely Work Week campaigns each year, NETS exemplifies everything for which the NAFA Safety Leadership Awards stand.”; and
• Janet Froetscher, president and chief executive officer, National Safety Council “The National Safety Council saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work,” says Russo. “In fact, the Council helped save more than 1,500 lives and prevent more than 236,000 injuries in last year alone – truly a remarkable job by Janet Froetscher and the National Safety Council.”

All three recipients will be honored in a special awards ceremony during the I&E. The conference is attended by fleet professionals from throughout the United States and Canada who are in the unique position to implement immediate changes within their organizations to bring about real results in such areas as traffic and road safety, sustainability and distracted driving – areas of concern to all three award recipients.