TMC names ‘Silver Spark Plug’ award winners, names new board

user-gravatar Headshot

TMCAmerican Trucking Associations’ Technology & Maintenance Council (TMC) awarded its highest honor — the Silver Spark Plug Award — to seven trucking industry professionals during its annual meeting Monday in Nashville.

The 2014 TMC Silver Spark Plug recipients are: Jim Clark, recently retired as director of engineering for TMD Friction, Troy, Mich.; Lilo Hurtado, applications engineer for ExxonMobil, Bolingbrook, Ill.; Bob Jeffries, sales manager for Remy Inc., Arlington, Texas; Mark Louzon, engine product development manager for Volvo Powertrain North America, Hagerstown, Md.; Vic Meloche, manager of technical sales for Detroit Diesel, Detroit; Don Raitzer, engineer for Stemco Brake Products Group, Livonia, Mich.; and Dan Umphress, vice president of maintenance and fleet services for A&R Transport, Morris, Ill.

“These recipients were awarded the Silver Spark Plug for their outstanding contributions to the improvement of equipment, maintenance, industry-related technology and management practices,” says Carl Kirk, ATA vice president of maintenance, information technology & logistics. “Through leadership and technical achievement, these individuals have all brought about significant improvements for the commercial vehicle industry.”

Clark, a member since 1985, He has been a very active member within the S.6 Chassis & Brakes Study Group, having chaired several task forces.

Hurtado, a member since 2005, has been active within the S.3 Engines Study Group. He has been a valuable contributor to the study group as its secretary, moderator and presenter for technical presentations, and as an active participant in creation of TMC recommended practices.

Louzon, a member since 2004, has been active within the S.3 Engines Study Group, having chaired several task forces, including the EGR Cooler Cleaning and Maintenance, and DPF Cleaning and Maintenance Task Forces.

Meloche, a member since 2007, has been active within the S.3 Engines Study Group, having served as a moderator and/or panelist for several sessions and chaired several task forces that formed new TMC recommended practices.

Raitzer, a TMC member since 1985, has been most active in the S.2 Tire & Wheel and S.6 Chassis & Brake Systems Study Groups.

Umphress, a member since 1987 has been closely associated with TMC’s S.3 Engines Study Group, having served as its Chairman from 2008-2010.

In order to receive this award, a TMC full or associate member must have demonstrated five years active service in support of TMC leadership and/or activities, earned the respect of his peers, demonstrated clear industry leadership, and contributed new ideas, practices, or innovations in the management and maintenance of commercial motor vehicles for the improvement of equipment, its maintenance and maintenance management.

Umphress also has been named the TMC general chairman for the 2014-2015 year.

Umphress served this past year as the council’s vice chairman and chairman of meetings.

Others serving as TMC officers for 2014-2015 include: Vice Chairman and Chairman of Meetings Kevin Tomlinson, South Shore Transportation; Chairman of Study Groups Doug White, Dunbar Armored; Chairman of Membership and Publicity Peggy Fisher, TireStamp, Inc.; Chairman of Associates Al Anderson, Bose Corp.; Immediate Past Chairman Kirk Altrichter, Crete Carrier Corp.; and Executive Director Carl Kirk, ATA vice president of maintenance, information technology & logistics.

TMC directors-at-large include John Adami, NW Heavy Duty Component Sales; Todd Cotier, Hartt Transportation; Greg Cybor, professional fleet manager; David Foster, professional fleet manager; Jeff Harris, Swift Transportation; and John Sullivan, Reliable Carriers.