Nominations sought for Driver of the Year awards

user-gravatar Headshot
Danny Smith was named the 2015 Company Driver of the Year by TCA and Truckers News.Danny Smith was named the 2015 Company Driver of the Year by TCA and Truckers News.

The Truckload Carriers Association, along with CCJ sister publications Overdrive and Truckers News, are seeking nominations for the 2016 driver of the year contests for company drivers and owner-operators.

Each contest will award the winner with $25,000. The Company Driver of the Year contest sets out to recognize and pay tribute to the company drivers who provide reliable and safe truck transportation in moving the nation’s goods. Danny Smith, a driver for Big G Express of Shelbyville, Tenn., was named the 2015 Company Driver of the Year.

The contest is open to any company driver employed by an over-the-road carrier who has safely driven one million consecutive, accident-free miles. A company driver must be nominated by the motor carrier by which he/she is currently employed and must have been employed by and driving for his/her current trucking company employer for the past three years.

The Owner-Operator of the Year contest is meant to recognize owner-operators who operate safely and promote the industry, as well as run their businesses successfully. Edward Mark Tricco, leased to Bison Transport in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, was named 2015 Owner-Operator of the Year.

The finalists in each contest will receive a trip to TCA’s annual meeting March 26-29 in Nashville, Tennessee, where the winners will be announced. Each of the finalists will receive $2,500.

Contest rules and nomination forms can be found here. The contests are sponsored by Cummins and Love’s Travel Stops.