FMCSA expands Irma regional emergency declaration to six more states

user-gravatar Headshot

Even though Hurricane Irma has been downgraded to a tropical depression, the storm is still bringing high winds and plenty of rain to the Southeast and Ohio Valley regions.

In light of that, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration on Monday expanded its existing emergency declaration to cover six more states – Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Missouri and Ohio. States already covered by the declaration include Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Tennessee, Alabama and Mississippi.

Drivers in these states will not be subject to hours-of-service regulations, as long as they are hauling emergency relief supplies to the areas affected by the storm. Additionally, FMCSA is not enforcing its Temporary Operating Authority Registration fee of $300.

Carriers can apply for temporary operating authority by submitting a signed MCS-150 form with “Emergency Temporary Authority” written at the top of the page, along with their OP-1 form. More on FMCSA’s temporary operating authority can be found in a FAQ here.

According to, most major highways in the state are back open, including I-10 in Lake City and I-95 near Miami, which were closed Monday due to flooding. The Sunshine Skyway Bridge in Tampa Bay has also reopened, according to state officials. There are still some closures on minor highways, a full list of which can be seen here.