St. Peters tech wins Rush Truck Center rodeo

Quimby Mug Bayou Florida Headshot
Updated Dec 14, 2017

2017 Rush Truck Centers Tech Skills RodeoWith $225,000 in cash and prizes, you could safely say that Christmas came a little early for the winners of the 2017 Rush Truck Centers Tech Skills Rodeo.

Rush Enterprises CEO Rusty Rush played the role of Santa, so to speak, handing out checks and prizes 40 times from a stage within a large conference room in the Grand Hyatt in San Antonio.

“It’s so special for me to be able to come here for the 12th year,” Rush told a room filled with about 800 people.

Rush heaped plenty of praise on his employees who work at Rush Truck Centers across the country.

“My heart and my connection to you is there, so I thank you from the bottom of my heart because you have made the organization, you make your families and we make so many other families better because of our commitment to making it happen,” said Rush who runs the largest commercial vehicle dealership network in the U.S.

NASCAR driver Clint Bowyer, who’s sponsored by Rush Truck Centers, joined Rush later on stage to announce Overall Grand Champion Justin Euler. Bowyer is featured in the first photo below alongside Euler (in the middle) and Rush (on the right).

We’ll follow-up tomorrow with some interviews of the winners. In the meantime, here’s the list of winning technicians, parts specialists and sales personnel. More pictures are posted below.

Overall Grand Champion

Justin Euler, Rush Truck Center – St. Peters, Total Winnings $18,000

Grand Champions

Aftermarket Sales: Tony Abbott, Rush Truck Center – Haines City, Total Winnings $7500

Parts: Michael Lyles, Rush Truck Center – Phoenix, Total Winnings $11000

Medium-Duty: Justin Euler, Rush Truck Center – St. Peters

Heavy-Duty:  Erick Lincoln, Rush Truck Center – Albuquerque

Reserve Grand Champions

Aftermarket Sales: Gary Gates, Rush Truck Center – Houston, Total Winnings: $4500

Parts: David Zainfeld, Rush Truck Center – Houston, Total Winnings $9,000

Medium-Duty: Travis Graham, Rush Truck Center – Orlando, Total Winnings $9500

Heavy-Duty: Jason Swann, Rush Truck Center – Dallas, Total Winnings $10,250

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Heavy Duty


3RD place: Andrew Frieling, Rush Truck Center – Joliet, $3,000

2nd place: Maciej Gal, Rush Truck Center – Chicago, $4400

1st place: Dylan Moser, Rush Truck Center – Richmond, $6750


1st place: Carl Trevino, Custom Vehicle Solutions, $5800

2nd place: Travis Webster, Rush Truck Center – Houston Medium-Duty, $4400

 Paccar MX

1st place: Glenn Boothe, Rush Truck Center – Nashville, $6750

3rd place: Eduardo Gutierrez, Rush Truck Center – Phoenix, $4400

2nd place: Johnny Mendez, Rush Truck Center – San Antonio, $3000 


3rd place: Wesley Appleton, Rush Truck Center – Odessa, $3000

1st: Michael Jones, Rush Truck Center – Tucson, $6750

2nd: Erick Lincoln, Rush Truck Center – Albuquerque, $4400

Alternative Fuels

1st: Matt Chilson Rush Truck Center – Houston Northwest, $5800

2nd: Gonzalo Uribe, Rush Truck Center – Fontana Vocational Services, $4400


2nd: Sylvester Chandler, Rush Truck Center – Dallas, $4400

3rd: Peter Dezwart, Rush Truck Center – Doraville, $3000

1st: Jason Swann, Rush Truck Center – Dallas, $6750 



1st: Derrick Kollin, Rush Truck Center – Cincinnati, $4400

2nd: Barry Thompson, Rush Bus Center – Dallas $5800


1st: Steven Brain, Rush Truck Center – Dallas Medium-Duty, $6000

2nd: Billy Stanley, Rush Truck Center – Houston, $4400


1st: Justin Euler, Rush Truck Center – St. Peters

2nd: Tom Hamilton, Rush Truck Center – Smyrna, $4400


1st: Mark Smith, Rush Truck Center – Doraville, $6000

2nd: Kory Sangster, Rush Truck Center – Dallas Light- and Medium-Duty, $4400


2nd: Louis Fontano, Rush Truck Center – Fontana, $4400

1st: Travis Graham, Rush Truck Center – Orlando, $6000

Parts Finalists (representing all Parts categories)

1st Ford: Timothy Howard, Rush Truck Center – Las Vegas

1st Peterbilt: Michael Lyles, Rush Truck Center – Phoenix

1st International: Tom Murray, Rush Truck Center – Gary

1st Isuzu: John O’Brien, Rush Truck Center – Orlando South

1st Hino: David Zainfeld, Rush Truck Center – Houston