Finalists named for 2019-2020 America’s Road Team

Updated Oct 17, 2018
america’s road team volvo

The American Trucking Associations announced Monday the 34 drivers who are finalists for the 2019-2020 term of America’s Road Team.

America’s Road Team, sponsored by Volvo Trucks, is a group of professional truck operators with superior safety records. Dubbed “captains,” they represent the trucking industry at industry events, schools and policymakers, with support from their companies.

The 34 finalists advance to the final round of the selection process, being held January 27-30 in Arlington, Virginia. A panel of industry officials and media will judge the finalists on their knowledge of the industry, dedicate to safety, ability to communicate and overall driving record.

The final Road Team will be announced on January 30 at a ceremony on Capitol Hill in Washington. “ATA believes the men and women who work safely day after day to deliver our goods – truck drivers – are the best representatives of the trucking industry and we are inspired by the finalists for the upcoming class of America’s Road Team,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear.

The finalists are:

  • Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking; Thorntown, Indiana
  • William C. Bennett III, UPS Freight; Maytown, Pennsylvania
  • Dale Brenaman, UPS Freight; Stamping Ground, Kentucky
  • Sammy Brewster, ABF Freight; Powder Springs, Georgia
  • Jorge Chavez, Jetco Delivery; Houston, Texas
  • Timothy Chelette, Big G Express; Murfreesboro, Tennessee
  • James Clark, Penske Logistics; Otter Lake, Michigan
  • April Coolidge, USA Truck; Mint Hill, North Carolina
  • Scott Davis, ABF Freight; Kearney, Missouri
  • Jesse Wayne Dennis, Prime Inc.; Springfield, Missouri
  • Ken Duncan, Walmart Transportation; Gorham, Maine
  • Douglas Frombaugh, FedEx Freight; Carlisle, Pennsylvania
  • William Goins, Old Dominion Freight Line; Cloverdale, Indiana
  • Billy Hambrick, Werner Enterprises; Yoder, Wyoming
  • Russell James, YRC Freight; Bonner, Montana
  • Ronnie Luckadoo, UPS Freight; Forest City, North Carolina
  • Gary Martin, FedEx Ground; Galt, California
  • William McNamee, Carbon Express; Christopher, Illinois
  • Dave Peterson, FedEx Ground; Blaine, Minnesota
  • Tine Peterson, FedEx Ground; Blaine, Minnesota
  • Brian Petrovcic, ABF Freight; McAlisterville, Pennsylvania
  • Robert Preston, Werner Enterprises; Winder, Georgia
  • Roger Price, TCW Inc.; Olive Branch, Mississippi
  • Jeff Rose, YRC Freight; Creston, Ohio
  • Rodney Rutledge, FedEx Freight; La Union, New Mexico
  • Richard Slack Jr., TCW Inc.; Savannah, Georgia
  • Theldorine Sova, Prime Inc.; Sacramento, California
  • James Starr, Groendyke Transportation; Wichita, Kansas
  • Clarence Taylor, Walmart Transportation; North Chesterfield, Virginia
  • Paul Wahlster, Holland; Rolling Prairie, Indiana
  • Nicolette Weaver, FedEx Freight; New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania
  • Todd Wilemon, ABF Freight; Fulton, Mississippi
  • James Gragg Wilson, FedEx Freight; Reno, Nevada
  • Ronald Vandermark, UPS Freight; Delran, New Jersey