Midwest, Plains emergency declaration extended into July

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated May 28, 2019

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration announced Thursday it has extended an emergency declaration for 16 states in the Plains and Midwest due to historic flooding across the region.

With the extension, the emergency declaration will be effective through July 2, or until the emergency ends, whichever is sooner. The declaration suspends hours of service regulations for truckers providing “direct support of relief efforts” to affected areas.

States included in the declaration are Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Drivers hauling supplies, equipment, fuel and more to and from the affected states can operate under the declaration, which waives Parts 390 through 399 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.