13 fleet reps appointed to ATA law enforcement outreach board

Ccj Logo White Headshot
Updated Jan 31, 2023

The American Trucking Associations on Monday appointed 13 fleet representatives from 10 motor carriers to its 2023 Law Enforcement Advisory Board (LEAB).

Formed in 2021 to advise the ATA Federation on strategies to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country, LEAB is comprised of ATA members who have previous experience in federal, state and local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials who’ve contributed positively to the partnership between both groups.

The 38 member group group, whose collective law enforcement experience totals over 900 years, have current or previous affiliation with 29 law enforcement entities nationwide. 

Zonar Systems Vice President of Safety and Compliance Fred Fakkema, who Prior to joining Zonar served 25 years in the Washington State Patrol, will once again serve as LEAB Chairman. 

"Last year, we helped advance the ball on truck parking through outreach to state departments of transportation across the country, alerting them to the federal funds available to build out capacity," said Fakkema. "That issue, in addition to others like human trafficking, aggressive and distracted driving, and marijuana legalization, will remain a top focus of ours in the year ahead.”

Fleet board members include Jeff Ferber, J.B. Hunt (CCJ Top 250, No. 3); Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line (No. 10); Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line; Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises (No. 13); Keith Eoff, J.B. Hunt; Mark Riordan, U.S. Auto Logistics; Steve Dowling, Covenant Logistics (No. 41); Dennis Bailey, Walmart; Floyd Dixon, FedEx (No. 1); Joshua Shelton, FedEx; Doug Beebe, American Moving & Storage Inc.; Martin Cepeda, Trancasa USA; and David Guess, Usher Transport.

Other members include Ron Cordova, Zonar Systems; Derek Barrs, HNTB Corporation; Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) Assistance Center; Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department; Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association; John Rigney, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association; Kent Grisham, Nebraska Trucking Association; Will Cole, Montana Trucking Association; Steve Massey, North Carolina Trucking Association; Marc Nichols, Drivewyze; Mark Savage, Drivewyze; John Samis, Delaware State Police; Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Texas Police Department; Rex Railsback, Railsback Hazmat Safety Professionals; Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance; Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs; Rocco Marrari, EBE Technologies; Steve Keppler, Scopelitis Transportation Consulting; Todd Armstrong, Illinois State Police; Jake Elovirta, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance (CVSA); Gary McCarthy, Aurora Innovation; Kevin Kelley, Missouri State Highway Patrol; Milana Walters, TM Total Consulting and Janice Mulanix, PrePass Safety Alliance.